<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Allicient &#187; Database Culture</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.allicient.co.uk/category/database-culture/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.allicient.co.uk</link>
	<description>Peter Maxwell's Information Security Site</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 16 Jun 2010 13:13:56 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=abc</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Knowing me, knowing you&#8230; ah-ha! [The hidden &#039;credit reference agency&#039; - N Hunter Limited]</title>
		<link>http://www.allicient.co.uk/2009/03/30/knowing-me-knowing-you-ah-ha/</link>
		<comments>http://www.allicient.co.uk/2009/03/30/knowing-me-knowing-you-ah-ha/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 30 Mar 2009 22:48:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>peter</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Database Culture]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[avensys]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[banks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[credit agency]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[credit application]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[credit referencing agency]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[data protection]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[financial]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[fraud]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[guardian]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[national hunter]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[po box]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.allicient.co.uk/?p=122</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This evening, I stumbled accross an article on the Guardian&#8217;s website; it details a little known agency which is apparently owned by banks in the UK and processes &#8220;fraud&#8221; data collected from credit applications.
Unfortunately, this agency is not well known at all &#8211; I certainly didn&#8217;t know about it.   If nobody knows about [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This evening, I stumbled accross an <a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/money/2008/nov/15/national-hunter-credit-agency">article</a> on the Guardian&#8217;s website; it details a little known agency which is apparently owned by banks in the UK and processes &#8220;fraud&#8221; data collected from credit applications.</p>
<p>Unfortunately, this agency is not well known at all &#8211; I certainly didn&#8217;t know about it.   If nobody knows about it, then they cannot check the information held is correct nor challenge any data held.  According to the article at least, the agency&#8217;s heuristics are also questionable: it uses previous application information to assess suspicious changes in a person&#8217;s income, employment, variations in identification documents and even if the same mobile phone number has been used on two different people&#8217;s applications.  I can think of a number examples which would trigger those rules in legitimate scenarios.</p>
<p>According to the article, the company also charges the maximum charge for a subject access request under the Data Protection Act, whereas normal credit reference agencies charge a nominal £2.</p>
<p>To make things worse, the agency&#8217;s address is a &#8220;PO Box&#8221; address &#8211; something that I suspect if were on an normal application for credit would cause it to be turned down and marked as possibly fraudulent.</p>
<p>In the next few weeks, I intend to post several articles on the issue of how our data is handled by credit referencing agencies and financial institutions but I thought this was a corker to start off with.</p>
<p>The agency&#8217;s website is <a href="http://www.nhunter.co.uk/">www.nhunter.co.uk</a>, its advertised address is:</p>
<p>N Hunter Limited<br />
PO Box 2756<br />
Stoke-on-Trent<br />
ST6 9AQ</p>
<p>It has no email or telephone number.</p>
<p>Looking up the whois entry for the domain name you get this address:</p>
<p>1 Bungalow, Rownall Road, Werrington<br />
Stoke on Trent<br />
Staffordshire<br />
ST9 0JB<br />
GB</p>
<p>which is pretty suspicious, as it looks like a residential address.</p>
<p>The IP seems to belong to Avensys Networks, AS8553.</p>
<p>If anybody has additional information on this agency, or how widespread their use is within the banking sector, then please post a comment or contact me.</p>
<p>UPDATED 12th April 2010: Added [] extra meaning in title.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.allicient.co.uk/2009/03/30/knowing-me-knowing-you-ah-ha/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
